Skip to main

About the Program Directors

Dr. Joseph S. Coselli

Dr. Coselli is the Vice-Chair of the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery, holds the Cullen Foundation Endowed Chair, and is Professor and Chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine. He serves as Chief of Adult Cardiac Surgery at Texas Heart Institute, and Associate Chief of the Cardiovascular Service at Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center, located in the Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas. He is Program Director of the Thoracic Surgery Residency at Texas Heart Institute/Baylor College of Medicine and directs the Aortic Fellowship Program at Baylor College of Medicine.

Program Director: Dr. Joseph S. Coselli

Read Dr. Coselli's Bio

Dr. Coselli was the two-time recipient of the Michael E. DeBakey Excellence in Research Award (2001 and 2017) for his research on the surgical treatment of aortic aneurysms, aortic dissection, and Marfan syndrome. In 2019, he received the Leader of Distinction Award for The Marfan Foundation. In 2018, Dr. Coselli received the DeBakey Surgery Award from the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society, as well as, the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement from the Texas Heart Institute recognizing his innovative work in aortic aneurysm surgery

Dr. Steven L. Lansman

Dr. Lansman received his MD and PhD (Biophysics) degrees in 1977 from the State University of New York Health Science Center at Brooklyn. He trained in cardiac surgery at S.U.N.Y. under Dr. Randall Griepp, and received training in cardiac transplantation at Stanford University Hospital, under Dr. Norman Shumway.

Program Director: Dr. Steven L. Lansman

Read Dr. Lansman's Bio

In 2001-2002, Dr. Lansman was President of the New York Society for Thoracic Surgery and in 2002, served as interim Chairman of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Mount Sinai. In 2005 he became Professor of Surgery at New York Medical College and Chief of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Westchester Medical Center, where he is currently Director of Cardiothoracic Surgery