Skip to main

Dr. Jones is Professor and Chief of Thoracic Surgery, and Executive Vice-Chair of the Department of Surgery at MSKCC. He is also the Co-Director of the Fiona and Stanley Druckenmiller Center for Lung Cancer Research. Dr. Jones is the current AATS President. He is the Chair of the AATS-MSKCC Thoracic Surgery Oncology Group (TSOG) Executive Committee for clinical trials, Program Director of the AATS International Thoracic Surgical Oncology Summit, and served in several leadership positions across the AATS And AATS Foundation including as Director of the AATS Board from 2014-2017, and as Secretary of the Association from 2018-2022.

Dr. Jones is the recent past Chair of the National Cancer Institute Tumor Progression and Metastasis study section and currently serves on the NCI Research Council as an external advisor to their intramural programs. Dr. Jones graduated Phi Beta Kappa from West Virginia University and received his medical degree from West Virginia University School of Medicine where he was AOA. He completed his Thoracic Surgery Residency at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, NC. In 1999, Dr. Jones joined the faculty at the University of Virginia where he became Professor and Vice-Chairman of the Department. In 2013 Dr. Jones was recruited to Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC).